Bible Options Bible Study Software
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Isiah 7:14
Hi, my name Sarah.  I am not Jewish but I am a born again Christian.  I have a friend who is Jewish and lives in Jerusalem.  She and I have recently been discussing our faiths through email.  It is a friendly and open discussion and we are each learning a great deal.  One thing she has mentioned a couple times and that I have no real knowledge of is Isiah 7:14 "Therefore the Lord Himself will give you a sign: Behold, a virgin will be with child and bear a son, and she will call His name Immanuel (NAS version)."     I have very little back ground in Hebrew, but she has told me that in the Hebrew the word is not virgin but simply maiden. She says she has no idea why it's been translated as virgin in the English, but she finds this a gross mistranslation, wrong, and feels that this a huge flaw in the Christian beliefs -obviously w/o the virgin birth you negate a huge fundamental factor of the Christian faith.   Can someone explain this to me?  I would like to understand it for myself and more importantly I wish to be able to explain it to her.  I saw that there is another post on this, however, w/ kids running around I only had a chance to read the couple of posts in it.  To be quite honest, as I have very little back ground in the Jewish faith and know very little Hebrew, I really was lost on the 1st post in that thread as I don't know what a lot of the words they referred to mean.  I do plan on looking at it more closely and hopefully I can find some answers there, but I thought if anyone could explain it in terms that I as a non-Jew, w/o a Jewish or Hebrew background could understand it might help some.  Thank you in advance.